Bob Books Early Readers Review and Giveaway

Shout, my Kindergartner is loving school and really enjoying everything she is learning. I knew she was a little behind in reading and wanted to get her up to speed and start working with her a lot more. This pregnancy has made me so sleepy that I know I use the TV way too much as a baby sitter and as far as I know The Mario Brothers show from the eighties that she loves does not teach early reading.

I was so glad when I was contacted by Bob Books to do a review and Giveaway of two of their Early readers.

I did make the mistake of telling Shout she would be getting books in the mail. Every second of every day she would ask about her books. It was quickly becoming as frequent as the amount of times I read and heard that Snooky was indeed expecting a child.

She loved reading these with and without me by her side. Cutest reader ever.

When the books came she was thrilled.  I loved the bright colored pictures and how easy it was to point to the pictures and have Shout identify the words. I loved the level of words and was happy to see that a lot of the basics words were ones Shout had been working on at school. Each book also has flashcards in the back to cut out and quiz your child. Love that feature!

 

I wanted a little feedback about the best ways to incorporate these books in our every day lives of craziness so I asked the Author Lynn Maslen Kertell a few questions about her books. Her answers are below my questions. I loved what she had to say.

 

1. What is the best way to use your books to help a child read? Also how much time is the best amount everyday to go over these books without overwhelming or loosing the Childs attention?
I’ll start with the second part of the question. The wrong amount of time is going until you and your child are cranky and irritated. Every kid (and parent) is different, so there is no “perfect” amount of time that is right for everybody. Some kids are natural readers, they love the attention of sitting with Mom or Dad and showing all they know. Other kids would rather be jumping off the couch than sitting on it with a book. I think a minimum amount of time is 5 minutes per day, even for kids who are not fond of reading. If you child wants to keep going – great.
There are lots of active ways you can practice reading skills with your child, too. Ask your child to read traffic signs while you’re driving. See if they can find the letter “M” in Market when you go shopping. Ask them to draw letters in the dirt or make them out of pipe cleaners or clay. Skill building can be a game, not a drudgery.
Bob Books help with beginning reading in a couple of ways:
– the stories are funny (I hope!!) to both parents and kids, so they’re enjoyable and satisfying.
– a many words as possible can be “sounded out.” It is important for kids to feel success when they’re starting to read. Our English language is complicated.Bob Books are written to be phonics-based, so children can sound out the words and be successful from the start.
– The two new books (Cupcake Surprise! and The New Puppy) have flash cards in the back, so you can help your child become familiar with the difficult words.
– If your child is struggling with these two books, review the basics by reading any of Bob Books Sets 1, 2, 3, or Sight Words.
2. I love how well the pictures match up to the words used in the books. How did you choose the beginning words in the book? Was it hard not making them too difficult to understand for early readers?
My job is like a fun puzzle, because I have to tell a good story with a simple vocabulary. I do a lot of switching words around, and even taking out whole sentences, so the story will work without using difficult spellings. I try to make the writing rich and interesting. Even thought they’re less than 200 words, and easy reading is a top priority, I want my books to be fun, easy to read, and worth reading.

 

The awesome people at Bob Books are letting me give one lucky reader the two books I received.

To Enter leave me a comment. I would love some more tips on how you read with your children but writing anything will do.

This contest will close on Friday March 30th at midnight.

Be sure to Follow Bob Books on Twitter and like them on Facebook to get more information on their early readers.

 

*I received 2 books from Bob books for this review all opinions are my own.

 

 

{ 36 comments… add one }

  • Tara Oliver March 26, 2012, 9:32 PM

    I don’t have any good tips, since I’m working on it myself with my 5-year-old. So that’s why I found this post of interest. :) I do leave the light on for my daughter at bedtime so she can look at books/read for a few minutes before lights out. She seems to enjoy that!

    Thank you for the giveaway, and the great post!

  • Victoria @obSEUSSed March 26, 2012, 10:00 PM

    Bob books are great! We haven’t tried these yet that you mentioned. They would be great for my kindergartner. TIP: He really loves reading these early readers forward, then backward once he gets to the end. He thinks it is hilarious to hear the words out of order – and it really helps him focus on the words and not just guess what word comes next (like he does when reading forward). See more tips here: http://www.obseussed.com/2012/03/reading-backwards-for-world-read-aloud.html I also follow Bob Books on Twitter.

  • Lori Bell March 27, 2012, 4:57 PM

    I have a four-year-old who is just learning his letters. I would love to have these books to help him learn to read.

  • Patricia March 27, 2012, 4:57 PM

    Our local library does a children’s story time. My little girls absolutely love and look forwards to this. They have come to love books so much that they choose to cuddle up to a book than a teddy bear when they go to bed. I also love that my 4 year old reads (makes up a story using the pictures) to her younger sister. I keep encouraging it. I like Bob on Facebook and also follow them on twitter.

  • Pam March 27, 2012, 5:00 PM

    I love reading to my kindergarten students. They love it when I make silly voices and use inflection while reading!

  • Diane Hurston March 27, 2012, 5:06 PM

    LOVE BOB BOOKS! My children learned to read with Bob books!

  • Kristina March 27, 2012, 5:07 PM

    Bob books are great! We borrowed some for our daughter; would love to own some for our little boy. I think the biggest thing in learning to read – beyond learning phonograms (including the multi-letter ones), is to relax. Do try to read every day, but never push. Children learn at their own pace. Some may be able to read phonic books at 4. Others, not until 7! My only other recommendation is to find books with a subject matter that highly interests your child; this is the best way to make sure he or she continues to enjoy reading :)

  • Christine March 27, 2012, 6:39 PM

    My daughter is in kindergarten too. She is love learning to rad. We talk about the sounds we hear in the words, mostly beginning and ending now. We also go to http://www.starfall.com which is a great pre reading/reading website. Plus we have a few phonics apps for the ipad.

  • sendy herrera March 27, 2012, 6:44 PM

    bob books , they seem so great and I would love a set of books that my kindergartener would enjoy he is just starting and is show a lot of progress , but I feel with a set of these books and some time with mommy one on one he will enjoy reading them a lot :)

    sendy herrera

  • Jackie March 27, 2012, 6:58 PM

    My 5 yrs old son absolutely loves Bob Books! I love them because they have boosted his confidence and he loves being able to read an entire book on his own. Every night at bedtime he picks a book out for me to read to him and I pick out a Bob Book for him to read to me. It’s a win win situation! Nothing feels than knowing that your child is going to bed proud that he accomplished reading a book all by himself. He now reads and spells EVERYTHING! Thank you Bob Books!!!

  • victory March 27, 2012, 7:41 PM

    we love the bob books and these new ones look great!

  • Ellen March 27, 2012, 7:49 PM

    I have a 5 year old learning to read right now. We first borrowed some bob books from a friend which she loved and wanted to read again and again. She would love these new books!

  • Melinda March 27, 2012, 8:27 PM

    I have a kindergartner also, so I’m still learning too! One thing that has worked well for us though is every night I read my boys a couple books, and then I have my kindergartner read us a short book also.

  • Gail G March 27, 2012, 9:45 PM

    We read every night before bed. We both pick out simple words in the story and it’s her job to read those words when we get to them. I try to make sure that they are repeated several times in the story. Then when she is comfortable with them, we add more words. She was struggling until we started doing that but now she is making huge improvements. Her teacher introduced me to Bob Books recently and would love to add these to her library!

  • Mayla M March 28, 2012, 8:28 AM

    We play the alphabet game in the car. Find a sign with a word that contains the letter ‘A’ then ‘B’ and so on. You can make it competitive or cooperative. It’s great because it’s new every time we play.

  • Harmony March 29, 2012, 12:56 PM

    The only way I can get my son to read is to
    1. Make a blanket ten
    2. Turn off all the lights
    3. Let him hold Daddy’s BIG flash light
    4. Read
    He loves it. He thinks it is a game. I have tried everything else and nothing has made him interested in reading.

  • Melissa March 29, 2012, 3:49 PM

    Oh how I would love to win these.

    I’m planning on a “book worm” themed party for Penelope the end of April for her 4th birthday. She loves it when I read books to her, but I’d love for her to become more independently interested in them! I like what Gail G wrote; picking out the words and working on sounding them out.

  • Michelle P. March 30, 2012, 12:53 PM

    I would love to win these too! My 2 1/2 year old LOVES books and is learning to sound out words. We enjoy reading the stories on starfall.com. Sure, the story itself is a little boring for me, but they are simple and interactive and I can see my daughter soaking up knowledge every time we read.

  • sarah boudreaux March 30, 2012, 12:59 PM

    i dont have any tips either i’m working on teaching my 4 and 5 year old how to read and it seems that the simplest things are the hardest to teach!!

    thanks for the giveaway!

  • Jeanne B. T. March 30, 2012, 1:04 PM

    Thank you for this awesome giveaway! Books are the best! – I work with my niece on reading cause she is 2 grade levels behind. She is doing so much better this year – we use the phonic system a lot to help with her sounds and she loves it. We also let her play teacher and teach me therefore she seems more interested in learning and she doesn’t even realize that she is learning. :) Jeanne

  • phxbne March 30, 2012, 1:11 PM

    no tips here – I need help too!

  • lisa March 30, 2012, 1:17 PM

    Read to them, even if they don’t want to read themselves yet! It still creates a bond between the child and the books :)

  • Ani G W March 30, 2012, 1:46 PM

    I try and read with them every day, but that doesn’t always happen… So, at bedtime if it hasn’t happened, I have my 8 year old read to my 4 and 1 year olds and then everyone is happy and my 8 year old has read for his homework…

  • Ashly March 30, 2012, 2:41 PM

    Thanks for the giveaway! We just try to read before bedtime (a lot of times just let my son read to all of us).

  • MARGARET March 30, 2012, 3:50 PM

    I WAS SHY IN SCHOOL, AND DOING STAND UP ASSIGNMENTS, LIKE ..BOOK REPORTS OR ESSAY ..OR MINI PLAYS…CRUSHED ME…!!

    I THINK CHILDREN SHOULD LEARN EARLY , TO PRESENT THINGS IN FRONT OF A GROUP AND BUILD THEIR CONFIDENCE..

    HAVE A..” STAND UP AND READ TIME” ….!!

    P.S. YOU’LL MAKE MEMORIES AS WELL..!!

  • Christin Banda March 30, 2012, 4:26 PM

    We read everything from cereal boxes to billboards…it really seems to help:)

  • Diana Hatch March 30, 2012, 5:05 PM

    I would love to win these to read with my 4 granddaughters

  • Char W March 30, 2012, 5:08 PM

    I try to read with my kids every day. My oldest can read now but when starting out (after letter recognition) I did “easy” words that come up often (the, and). It was recognition as opposed to sounding out. I would read and stop at a word and I would see or hear “t-h-e… the” or “a-n-d… and” etc. With my youngest it’s been working with letter sounds.

  • Kristen March 30, 2012, 6:38 PM

    We visit the library every week. When my kids pick out their own books, they are motivated to read them!

  • Candie L March 30, 2012, 7:37 PM

    I let my children see me reading so they develop the interest at an early age. Thank you

    candieluster(at)gmail(dot)com

  • Nicole B March 30, 2012, 7:42 PM

    My daughter is in kindergarten & these books were recommended by her teacher! One way we encourage reading for our daughter is we read aloud together – she reads the words & parts she knows & we read the parts that are more challenging. This encourages her & strengthens her desire to keep trying. Thanks for the giveaway!

  • Nancy March 30, 2012, 7:52 PM

    When my children were young, I kept a basket of books on the floor. They could toddle over at any time and grab some books for me to read to them. (Of course, I also initiated reading times with them!) I decided that anytime they brought me a book, I would read it to them. They both grew up to be great readers!

  • Robin Blankenship March 30, 2012, 8:45 PM

    We go to the library and I let my daughter pick what she is interested in. We read next to each other. I am lucky my kids love to read

  • Erin Lawrence March 30, 2012, 9:10 PM

    I don’t have any great tips yet- my daughter is only 17 months, but is fascinated by letters. I let her choose a book, we sit together and she interacts while I read, she loves to call out the letters that she recognizes in each word. Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  • Jenny March 30, 2012, 9:51 PM

    Would love to win these books to read with my kids. I read with my kids every day and we try to find books that interest them.

  • Debra @ A Frugal Friend March 30, 2012, 10:20 PM

    I read to my daughter every day….and have since birth pretty much. I also try to incorporate a time where she just sits and looks at picture books to encourage her love of reading. So far so good!

Leave a Comment